SIGNALÉTHIQUE

Dear,

 

Official studies on road safety all agree that in the majority of cases it is the lack of attention that is really responsible for road accidents.

There are indeed plenty of rules and laws to theoretically regulate traffic problems, but these rules do not solve the practical problem of concentration and attention to driving.

It is most often the automatisms which distance man from the conditions of attention and responsibility and it is therefore important to understand that road signs repeated endlessly, in abundance, always the same, are part of these automatisms . It becomes banal and mechanical, it is then the message itself which ends up losing its interest and its importance, the signaling is very present but is no longer contemplated, the communication does not pass.

My work, on the other hand, awakens the driver's attention, it creates interest and sympathy where there is generally very little attention and often even a certain rejection.

Of course, I take care in my interventions on the panels never to harm the original meaning of the message, my work is present in a largely minor proportion compared to the whole of the image and in an emergency situation it tends to disappear because the eye selects. I would also have no interest in eliminating the message from the panels on which I work, my work ironically largely on their uncompromising and authoritarian character, without that it is my work itself which loses its meaning.

The important thing is in the way of doing it, I always impose myself to be constructive and positive, I add sense, poetry, humor, at least I force myself. In any case, I seek dialogue, I have never hidden, because if vandalism destroys constructed art.

 

I would thus enrich a social debate where it would be a question of finding a fair balance between taxation and freedoms, because the excess of rules discourages the sense of responsibility of the citizen which generates the need for new rules in a vicious circle without purposes.

Through the insertion of poetic or philosophical elements into a purely uncompromising subject such as the highway code, I give the concrete example of a possible reconciliation between two extremes usually in tension : authority and freedom. I would like to demonstrate that we have to find a compromise, the law will always need more humanity to be better respected, like signs which become desirable and sought-after objects as soon as they contain a little humor and meaning.

 

Look at the children, they immediately perceive the playful and human character of my work, they look for it in the city, finally attentive to the presence of traffic signs, communication passes, road safety progresses.

Clet

SIGNALÉTHIQUE

Madame, Monsieur, 

Les études officielles sur la sécurité routière concordent toutes pour reconnaître que dans la majorité des cas c'est bien le manque d'attention le vrai responsable des accidents de la route.
Il existe en effets des règles et des lois en abondances pour réglementer, théoriquement, les problèmes de circulation, mais ces règles ne permettent pas de résoudre le problème pratique de la concentration et de l'attention à la conduite.

Ce sont le plus souvent les automatismes qui éloignent l'homme des conditions d'attention et de responsabilité et il est donc important de bien comprendre que la signalisation routière répétée à l'infinie, en surabondance, toujours la même, fait partie de ces automatismes. Elle devient banale et mécanique, c'est alors le message lui même qui finit par perdre son intérêt et son importance, la signalisation est bien présente mais n'est plus contemplée, la communication ne passe pas.

Mon travail par contre réveille l'attention du conducteur, il crée de l'intérêt et de la sympathie là ou il y a en générale que bien peu d'attention et souvent même un certain rejet.

Bien sur, je prend soin dans mes interventions sur les panneaux à ne jamais nuire au sens originel du message, mon travail est présent dans une proportion largement mineure par rapport à l'ensemble de l'image et dans une situation d'urgence il tend à disparaître car l'oeil sélectionne. Je n'aurais d'ailleurs aucun intérêt à éliminer le message des panneaux sur lesquels j'interviens, mon travail ironise en bonne partie sur leur caractère intransigeant et autoritaire, sans cela c'est mon travail lui même qui perd son sens.
L' important est dans la façon de le faire, je m'impose toujours d'être constructif et positif, j'ajoute du sens, de la poésie, de l'humour, du moins je m'y force. Je cherche de toutes façons le dialogue, je ne me suis jamais caché, car si le vandalisme détruit l'art construit.

J'aimerais ainsi enrichir un débat social ou il serait question de trouver un juste équilibre entre les impositions et les libertés, car l'excès de règles décourage le sens de responsabilité du citoyen ce qui engendre la nécessité de nouvelles règles en un cercle vicieux sans fins.

À travers l'insertion d'éléments poétiques où philosophiques dans un sujet purement intransigeant comme le code de la route je donne l'exemple concret d'une possible réconciliation entre deux extrêmes habituellement en tension : l'autorité et la liberté. Je voudrais démontrer qu'il faut chercher le compromis, la loi aura toujours besoin de plus d'humanité pour être mieux respecté, comme les panneaux qui deviennent des objets désirables et recherchés dès lors qu'ils contiennent un peu d'humour et de sens.

Regardez les enfants, ils perçoivent immédiatement le caractère ludique et humain de mon travail, ils le cherchent dans la ville, finalement attentif à la présence des panneaux de circulation, la communication passe, la sécurité routière progresse.

Clet